Day 16 – Pizza Dough

Japanese week is over. It was fun having a theme as it meant I could buy a lot of the same ingredients for several days and also gave me a chance to think up now things for after the week ended. So far I’ve come up with Pizza. That’s it.

I tried making the pizza dough yesterday and it was a disaster so I’m trying again today. It seems so basic I can’t work out what went wrong so here goes – I used Jamie Oliver’s Pizza Dough recipe so what’s the worst that could happen.

Ingredients

DSC_0626

1kg Strong White Flour

1 tsp Fine Sea Salt

2 x 7g Dried Yeast Sachets

1 Golden Caster Sugar

4 Tbsp Oil

650ml Lukewarm Water

I stopped at the store for flour as I didn’t have any Strong Flour in the house. Turns out I did. I now also have a second bag of strong flour, several magazines, a sandwich, popcorn, a phone cover and an empty purse.

Steps

DSC_0627

Sieve the flour and salt onto a clean work surface. Make a well in the centre. In a jug mix together the yeast, oil, sugar and water.

DSC_0628

Leave for a few minutes to dissolve and mix together. Pour the liquid mixture in to the well and gradually bring the flour in with a fork.

DSC_0629

It should start coming together to form a dough. When this starts, work it in to a ball using your hands. Make sure they are dusted with flour to prevent the dough sticking.

DSC_0618

Place the dough in a flour dusted bowl, dust with flour then cover with a damp cloth. Leave to proove for an hour in a warm room, until the dough has doubled in size. Take the dough out onto a floured surface and knead a bit to remove the air – this is called Knocking Back.

The dough is good to go.

DSC_0632

Top with a selection of goodies – We went for Milano Salami, Streaky Bacon, Chipolatas, Basil and Mozzarella.

I baked for 20-30 minutes, checking regularly.

I am never, ever making Pizza Dough again. Second time and it was just as bad. I’ve Googled it since and the problem is potentially yeast related. There was no froth. Neither attempts rose, and when I cooked the second attempt it was shiny and none of the toppings would stick. Tasted lovely though.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Lillybank Silver

Precious makes and keepsakes

Dan in Deutschland

A British expat's take on life in Germany

Itsjennythewren's Blog

My creative space

Languages. Motivation. Education. Travelling

Language learning, travelling around the world and interesting cultural facts

Binny Learns a Language...

una palabra en un momento

Ma Vida En Acentos

una palabra en un momento

Unalome

Life Coaching & Event Planning

Artsy Teen

The Official Blog for Artsy Teens

BekBek

Weight related rantings and ramblings

My Berkeley Bowl

Making my way through the exotic fruits and vegetables of the Berkeley Bowl aisles, one delicious recipe at a time

Beth Bolton

Merging Yoga and Therapy.

Sophia's news, reviews and cooking tips

This blog focuses on current events, news stories and articles. You will also find theatre reviews, London life, vegetarian cooking, photography, scepticism and rants about Tony Blair

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

emdallena

I am. :)

