Day 24 – Aioli

So we’re moving. Windows are being fitting, kitchen is being designed. I can finally unbox my Christmas Kenwood. Problem is cooking has been hard. I’ve deviated from the Super Saturday list, so shameful. Everything has needed to be easy this week. I’m also away this weekend. Sorry.

Tonight we had fish and chips but I wanted something extra. There are four things I love in food terms – cheese being the first which you might know by now. The others are salt, mayo and garlic. Yes I know the salt one is terrible but I can’t help it, it goes on everything I eat. However not many recipes exist with salt as the main ingredient so garlic mayo it is. Or Aioli to be precise.

Ingredients

3 egg yolks

4 garlic cloves

juice of 1/2 lemon

salt and pepper

150ml extra virgin olive oil

mustard powder (optional)

saffron (optional)

Now this recipe couldn’t be easier. It puts all the easy recipes so far to shame.

Steps

1. Blend egg yolks, garlic, lemon and salt&pepper in a food processor

2. Pour in the oil in a steady stream while still blending until thick and creamy

3. Serve with baguettes (or chips.)

And that’s it, you can add the mustard and/or saffron to vary the flavour if you like. I guess you could add other herbs or spices to it as well for different effects. I’m not sure how long this would keep though  but definitely a fridge dweller.

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Lillybank Silver

Precious makes and keepsakes

Dan in Deutschland

A British expat's take on life in Germany

Itsjennythewren's Blog

My creative space

Languages. Motivation. Education. Travelling

"Je suis féru(e) de langues" is about language learning, study tips and travelling. Join my community!

Binny Learns a Language...

una palabra en un momento

Ma Vida En Acentos

una palabra en un momento

Unalome

Life Coaching & Event Planning

Artsy Teen

The Official Blog for Artsy Teens

BekBek

Weight related rantings and ramblings

My Berkeley Bowl

Making my way through the exotic fruits and vegetables of the Berkeley Bowl aisles, one delicious recipe at a time

Beth Bolton

Merging Yoga and Therapy.

Sophia's news, reviews and cooking tips

This blog focuses on current events, news stories and articles. You will also find theatre reviews, London life, vegetarian cooking, photography, scepticism and rants about Tony Blair

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

emdallena

I am. :)

